Deanery Synod

The Parishes of the Whitby Deanery are organised into six groups called benefices.
Each benefice is cared for by its own Rector or Vicar and each parish is represented at the Deanery Synod by two PCC members. The Synod is chaired by the Area Dean and Lay Dean.
The Area Dean (Rural Dean) is Revd Michael Gobbett.
The Lay Dean is Dr Leslie Dobson.
The Secretary of the Deanery Synod is Mr John Coxon.
Click here or scroll down for details of all Synod members. Please let Mike Lyth know of any changes to the list (01947 896370).

map of Whitby Deanery with benefices. Interactive on large screens.
Click within a green outline to visit a benefice.
Map of Whitby Deanery with benefices marked.

Click on a name below to visit a benefice, or scroll down for the names of Deanery Synod Members.



Mrs Pam Penn


Not appointed


Not appointed


Dr Leslie Dobson, 16 West Lane, Danby, YO21 2LY
Mrs Jane Dingle, 1 Strait Lane, Ainthorpe, Danby, YO21 2JY
01287 660619
Mrs Sally Wilson, 17 Dale End, Danby YO21 2JH


Not appointed


Mr John Norton
Mrs Maggie Burchell


Mr Mike Lyth, 2 Braithwaite Cottage, Green End, Goathland YO22 5LG
01947 896370


Vicki Ford, Northgate, Glaisdale YO21 2PU
01947 897398


Mrs V McGrath, 11 Priory Park, Grosmont YO22 5QQ
01947 895425

Hawsker cum Stainsacre

Mrs Mary Cummings, Russell Hall Farm, Stainsacre, YO22 4NW
01947 601988


Not appointed


Vicki Ford, Northgate, Glaisdale YO21 2PU
01947 897398


Mrs Sue Mason, Rockery Cottage, West Barnby YO21 3SD
01947 893308


Mr Ken Gillance, 31 High St, Moorsholm, Saltburn by the Sea TS12 3JH
01287 660661


Not appointed


Not appointed


Mrs Sue Mason, Rockery Cottage, West Barnby YO21 3SD
01947 893308


Mr John Coxon, 19 Lowdale Lane, Sleights, YO22 5BU
01947 810397


Mrs Liz Egerton


Mr John Stafford-Smith


Joe Jefferson, 4 The Green, Ugthorpe, YO21 2BH
01947 840692


Not appointed


Mrs Anne Mitchell, Flat 1, Surrey House, 1 Chubb Hill Rd, Whitby, YO21 1JP
Mr Paul Burnett, 2 Heather Drive Whitby, YO22 4DZ

St Hilda's Priory, Sneaton Castle

Sister Helen, OHP
01947 602079/810496


The Coastal Parishes

Revd Josephine Evetts-Secker, Lidgate, Victoria Square, Lythe, Whitby, YO21 3RW
01947 893338

Fylingdales and Hawsker

Revd Simon Smale, St Stephen's House, Laburnum Avenue, Robin Hoods Bay, YO22 4RR
01947 880695 | mob 07967 472005

Lower Esk

Revd Veronica Carolan, The Vicarage, 22 Eskdaleside, Sleights, Whitby, YO22 5EP
01947 810349

Middle Esk Moor

Revd Paul Jackson, The Vicarage, Egton, Whitby YO21 1UT
01947 895833

The Moorland Parishes

Post vacant

Whitby with Ruswarp

Revd Michael Gobbett, The Rectory, Chubb Hill Road, Whitby YO21 1JP
01947 602590
Revd Capt Malcolm Jackson, c/o Whitby Parish Office, Mission to Seafarers Centre, Haggersgate, Whitby YO21 3PP
01947 605686 | mob 07881 930584

Member of General Synod

Revd Andrew Paul Hutchinson The Rectory, Leven Close, Stokesley, TS9 5AP
01642 710405

© 2017 Whitby Deanery — All Rights Reserved. This website does not use cookies or collect data.