Ruswarp St Bartholemew(N 54.47036, W -0.62966) Post Code: YO21 1NH
Ruswarp was not always the small village it is today. It was an important river crossing point and Whitby Abbey had a large watermill there, and almost certainly a chapelry. In the early nineteenth century large parts of the Whitby of today were included in Ruswarp township, but it did not have its own church until 1869. In that year work started on the present church following an 'Early Decorated' design by Charles Armfield, the York Diocesan Surveyor (also see All Saints' Ugglebarnby). From the outside, its most impressive features are the 120 foot high spire and the 'apsidal' chancel standing like a turret at the east end. Inside, the chancel roof is intricately painted and stained glass windows commemorate local families. The window over the altar, marking the 1877 Jubilee may be by the famous Munich firm Franz Meyer and Co. Most of the woodwork is by the firm of Robert Thompson and his trademark mouse can be found in several places. A unique feature is the rood beam, also by Thompson, which is the First World War memorial. In 1990, redevelopment of the interior created a parish room, kitchen and toilet..
The Deanery Synod Representative is Mrs Lea Marr.
More information may be found at: